Haven Hospice Recognizes Volunteers

Award Winners Honored at Volunteer Award Luncheons

Gainesville, Florida  (April 30, 2014) –  The recipients of the Haven Hospice Volunteer of the Year Award for the Haven Hospice service areas were announced during several volunteer appreciation luncheons during the month of April(April 6 to 13, 2014 was National Volunteer Week).  At Haven Hospice, the staff and volunteers are the difference and Haven especially recognizes volunteers for their hard work and dedication during this time.

Volunteer of the Year Award winners included Ken and Frances Fisher from Jacksonville, Betsy Tier from Flagler County, Betsy Schulze from Volusia County, Norene Cooper from Chiefland, Robin McKenzie from Orange Park, Margaret “Hooty” Rowe from Palatka, Gerri Otim from Gainesville, Dr. Dave Lawson from Lake City and Millie Badea from St. Augustine.

Other volunteer winners from the Jacksonville and Orange Park area included Alexis Beaver and Sandy Compton, Patient and Caregiver Award; Shirley Crawford and Doris Garrone, Administrative Award; Ron Spiess, Transitions Award; Jim Boss, Care Center Volunteer Award; Barbara Smith, Attic Volunteer Award; and Helen Denney and Rosanne Lucas, Community Outreach Award.

Volunteer winners from the Flagler and Volusia County areas included Judy Finger, Steve Finger and Jack Leighton, Patient and Caregiver Award; Terry Hein and Leslie Leighton, Administrative Award; and Flagler/Palm Coast High School Teen Outreach Program and the JROTC Titan Battalion University High School, Community Outreach Award.

Volunteers from the Chiefland area included Mike Harrell, Patient and Caregiver Award; Sue and John Kress, Care Center Volunteer Award; Marie Lucas and Fayetta Eggen, Administrative Award; Gene and Rita Wealing, Community Outreach Award; and Isabel Smith, Transitions.

Volunteers from the Palatka area included: Rosemary Custead, Community Outreach Award; Skip Lorenzen, Care Center Volunteer Award; Fran Monbrod, Administrative Award; and Arlene Smith, Patient and Caregiver Award.

Volunteers from the Gainesville area included: Russell Hay, Patient and Caregiver Award; Gary Holmes, Community Outreach Award; Karyn Payne, Care Center Volunteer Award; Jan Wilson, Attic Volunteer Award; and Sue Yelton, Administrative Award.

Volunteers from the Lake City area included: Melbe Brinkley, Care Center Volunteer Award; Joan Coalman, Patient and Caregiver Award; Diane Parks, Attic Volunteer Award; Judith Mundy, Administrative Award; and Radiant in Red Chapter of the Lake City Red Hat Society, Community Outreach Award.

Volunteers from the St. Augustine area included: Diane Mahoney, Administrative Award; Sharon McIlhenny, Patient and Caregiver Award; and Diane Nelson, Community Outreach Award.

Volunteers are a vital member of the Hospice Care Team.  They provide companionship, support and assistance to patients residing at home, in assisted living facilities, nursing homes, hospitals and any of Haven’s five, free-standing care centers.  They also reach out to grieving families, help staff the Attic Resale stores and serve on special event committees.  Haven is proud to have more than 800 community members dedicating their time and talents to patients and families in 18-counties across North Florida.